Posted by: B.L. Guadiz | June 12, 2011

113th Philippine Independence Day and My Moment of Truth

Today, June 12, 2011, is the 113th Philippine Independence Day. All over the world, Filipinos are celebrating this wondrous occasion when Emilio Aguinaldo declared the independence of the Philippines from the Spanish rule on June 12, 1898.

On the balcony of his home in Kawit, Cavite, the Philippine National Flag made by Marcela Agoncillo, Lorenza Agoncillo and Delfina Herboza in Hong Kong was officially unfurled in front of the crowd while playing the Marcha Filipina Magdalo, now known as the Philippine National Anthem, “Lupang Hinirang.”

It seems like only yesterday when we Filipinos were contemplating the centennial celebration of our Independence Day.  I was a freshman college student back in 1998 when the nationwide centennial celebration took place. The question is, what has happened to our culture since the Declaration of Independence 113 years ago?

Well, I guess that is a profound topic to discuss at this moment. Why don’t we start with my personal views instead? Okay, so I’m 29 years old now, that’s about a quarter since the Declaration of Philippine Independence in 1898. I have to be honest… I have not always been this nationalistic. Who has been? I mean, really.

Except perhaps for our forefathers who fought for our independence from colonial rule not only from the Spaniards but also from the Japanese and Americans. They also had their fair share of fascination with the foreign culture but then again, who hasn’t?

I don’t know if it’s purely coincidence or not but I just published my first book on Lulu yesterday entitled “Only in the Philippines.” I was only halfway through finishing it when I decided to complete the photo book within the day. This morning after going to the church, I noticed an assembly in the municipal hall here in our small town.

I then realized that today is the Philippine Independence Day. It completely slipped my mind perhaps it is due to the fact that most Filipinos who are not working in the government sector are not specifically required to attend the celebration.

Perhaps it’s the innate nationalistic blood that had me fueled yesterday to finish the photo book series I was making. It is, after all, my way to show the world that I am proud to be a Filipino. =)

My first book ever published… Yehey!!!

So what do you think?

Categories

